Everyone's favorite old soul has a website now.

Blog 31/07/23
Assorted life tips from an 18 year old

Hello and welcome to the first blog entry that I have just created, right now. I have spent so much time the past day working on this website, and I'm so excited that it's finally starting to resemble something I like! I've worked out a few bugs, learned some new skills, and (most importantly), found so many blinkies and badges. Unsure if it's the autism but I have been so so excited to curate a collection. Sidebar to sidebar, blinking, flashing, gorgeous little trophies. I'm not going to lie, the whole reason I wanted to start this website was because I saw some blinkies and decided that I had to have them. 6 months and my first computer later, here I am. Thanks for reading! I know the site is still very empty right now, but I can't wait to fill it up. I hope you'll stick around. -pebabmey :3

Assorted life tips from an 18 year old

It's weird to think that it's basically been a year since I made this website and updated it. I'm almost done my first year of college and it feels like it's been so little time. I feel like I'm not really any wiser or anything, but I wanted to share tips. This website is going to be the place where I put my half baked ideas, my failed projects, adn everything else that I want. Without further ado: my tips.

School

  1. Make sure you have direct boundaries between school and life. My number one tip is that you should never ever study or do schoolwork while you are eating. Meals should be time for you to relax and decompress. Even if it is only for 15 minutes, it really helps me reset and get ready to continue working.
  2. The best way to study is a good night's sleep. Don't cram the night before, wake up early and cram then. I promise that studyding on a well-rested mind is much more productive.
  3. Extra credit is your best friend, especially in college.

Stress Management

  1. Spend time with others. I know: you're an introvert, you prefer your alone time. When you're stressed, it's really easy to hide yourself away and wallow without any outlet. If you have good friends, they'll listen to your woes when you have them and you'll listen to theirs in return. Spending just a little time with people really helps me refresh and i am the definition of an introvert: even 5-10 minutes is beneficial.
  2. Go outside. Most of these tips are very "self-help article written by a neurotypical" but I swear to you if you get out of your head and try them they help.
  3. Try a coloring book. I have a few coloring books that I'm a really big fan of, and sometimes I'll even combine outside time and coloring if I'm feeling feisty.

ADHD and Autism coping strategies

  1. The timer method. I really only pull this out when I am on a time crunch and unable to focus, but it is indispensible. You begin by starting a "work" timer - length can be whatever you need/are able to reasonably focus for. When you start that timer, you work for the length of that timer and that amount of time only. When the timergoes off, you start a different timer: this one for the length of time you set aside to completely relax and ignore your work. Sometimes, you may find that you are really getting into your groove when the timer goes off, so you might start it again and work for longer. I use a 15min work timer and a 5min relax timer, which suit my needs very well.